Not logged in. Login | Register

Glenwoood Sunday Market to open This Sunday!

Posted on June 01, 2010

The Glenwood Sunday Market will open for the season June 6th! How exciting is it that Rogers Park’s new farmers’ market will be among the greenest markets in the City of Chicago?
What makes us so green? All of our farmers are organic growers or are in the process of transitioning to organic. All are within 200 miles of Rogers Park. Visit the Meet Our Farmers page of the website to start getting to know your farmers.

The market will run every Sunday from June 6th through October 17th. There will be a variety of live entertainment, a weekly Green Tent and childrens’ activities. Check the calendar for scheduled events.

Due to Morse Avenue Streetscaping Project, the market will open south of Morse between Farwell & Morse for the first month or so- right across the street.

Are you a local farmer or food purveyor? We would love to talk to you about bringing your goods to Rogers Park. Farmers may download an application here. The processed food application may be downloaded here.

Interested parties may download a press release.
How can you support the Market?

There are many many opportunities and ways you can help support the market.

Shop the Market- especially on rainy days! It’s conveniently located, accessible by public transportation, offers absolutely the freshest locally grown food available and it’s fun!

Donate. A $10.00 donation will help us provide healthy eating education programs, certify our Market Manager in food safety, and many other incidental expenses. For larger donations, you can help offset the City of Chicago fees for operating the market, which are in the thousands. Just like public TV, if we do not have your help, we will not be able to sustain the market. All donations are 100% tax deductible and you can donate via PayPal on our website or send checks to Rogers Park Business Alliance, our fiscal agent. (Make checks out to RPBA)

Volunteer. Visit the Volunteer section of the website to see where you can help. We welcome anyone with a great idea or lots of enthusiasm. Help us showcase our amazing community.

Sponsor. We need local businesses that would like to get their message out to the diverse Rogers Park community. Show Rogers Park that your business cares about the community. We have tax-deductiblesponsorship opportunities for businesses.
Presenting Sponsors

Seasonal Sponsors

Weekly Non-Profit Tent

The market will feature a different local non-profit organization weekly. If you are interested in hosting the non-profit tent, submit a request in writing to Sheree Moratto, Market Manager.

Include the following information with your request:

•Non profits submit proof of 501(c)3 status and their Mission statement
•State in 1 or 2 sentences what they will offer - like a volunteer and outreach materials or 2 staff members and outreach materials.
•Request 3 dates that would work for them to appear at the Market (We will assign you based on availability)
•$25.00 administrative fee.
Resources for Local and Organic Food

There are an amazing amount of resources out there to learn more and get involved with the local food movement. Below is but a sampling of the organizations working towards sustainability, organic and the local food movement.

Angelic Organics http://www.angelicorganics.com/& http://www.csalearningcenter.org/
Chicago Food Policy Advisory Council http://chicagofoodpolicy.org/
Chicago Reader   list of 2010 CSAs
Family Farmed http://www.familyfarmed.org
Food Animal Concerns Trust http://www.foodanimalconcerns.org/
The Fresh Taste Initiative’s Good Food for All http://www.freshtaste.typepad.com/
Garfield Farm Museum http://www.garfieldfarm.org/
Illinois Local Food and Farms Coalition
Keep Antibiotics Working http://www.keepantibioticsworking.org/
Illinois Stewardship Alliance http://www.ilstewards.org/
The Land Connection http://thelandconnection.org/
The Local Beet   http://www.thelocalbeet.com/
Local Harvest   http://www.localharvest.org/
Local First Chicago   http://www.localfirstchicago.org/
Mindful Metropolis   http://www.mindfulmetropolis.com/Home
Organic Consumers Association http://www.organicconsumers.org/
Purple Asparagus http://www.purpleasparagus.com/
Slow Food Chicago http://www.slowfoodchicago.org/
The Talking Farm http://www.thetalkingfarm.org/
USDA Know Your Farmer Know Your Food  

If you would like to see your organization listed here contact .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).
Founding Organizations


The Rogers Park Business Alliance is the Fiscal Agent for The Glenwood Sunday Market.

1448 West Morse Ave., Chicago, IL 60626 Ph: 773.508.5885

Bookmark and Share
Reader Comments

Post a Comment